The Walmart Test

Ten days, I haven’t been able to train or work for ten days!  I only missed seven days of work when I had my first baby!  I miss all of my friends and co-workers.  I miss moving around.  I miss my blog.  I miss everybodies’ blogs.

I went to the doctor Thursday, and he showed me the MRI that was done in the ER last Saturday.  My thoracic spine (chest) is beautiful and healthy.  However, my cervical spine (neck) looks very old.  There is a lot of degeneration of the disks, narrowing of the inside of my cervical spinal column, and a very evil-looking bone spur on inside of C-5.  It’s on the right side of C-5 pushing into my spinal cord and downward into the root nerve between c-5 and c-6.  I’m experiencing a lot of pain in my neck, upper back and right arm.  I have to see a neuromuscular doctor to check for nerve damage.  After that, I go back to the nuerosurgeon.  Then, maybe I’ll know what the future will hold.

I decided I would go to Walmart Friday night.  I needed to pick up some basic necessities and Walmart is one stop shopping.  I figured that, if I could survive Walmart, I could survive a twelve-hour shift.  Well, I failed that test.  When I woke up today,  I was hurting pretty bad again.  I called my supervisor and told her that I would be out another day.  She replied, “That’s ok, we didn’t expect you back yet anyway.”  Apparently, management is more realistic about this than I am.

On a sort of positive note.  I was able to go watch a few minutes of class.  🙂  They were working on omaplata!  WITHOUT ME! 😦  It was nice to see the guys.  I also wanted to let them know that they did not do this to me.  It was not BJJ that did this.  If anything,  BJJ and Martial Arts kept it from being much worse.  I was genetically predisposed to this and it was just a matter of time.

This entry was posted in BJJ Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Walmart Test

  1. Georgette says:

    Hurry up and get your surgery, your PT, whatever it takes… sorry to hear you’re in pain!

    • Thanks for the encouragement. I’m gonna try to avoid surgery, if I can. The pain is manageable right now. I’m just having probs with nerve damage / impingement. Sometimes I just lose function of my right hand and foot for a minute. Then it comes right back. Wearing a wrist brace on right to help prevent that for now. I’m back training so all is good.

  2. Kirsch says:

    Hope you feel better soon….I know that unsolicited advice regarding injuries can be incredibly annoying, but have you tried going to a chiropractor? It’s not for everyone I realize, but a good one can provide surprisingly positive results.

Leave a Reply

