You’ve Been Exposed…

     I woke up this afternoon (I work nights) ready to start the New Year training.  I did my sleepy stumble to the kitchen and made my first major decision of the day, “Breakfast food, lunch food, or dinner food?  Lunch it is.”  My brain woke up an hour later, and  I checked my phone for calls and messages…

      The first text message read, “You were exposed to meningitis.  The ER is looking for you.”  I called my supervisor,  and she explained that I had come into contact with a patient that was diagnosed with meningitis.  That I needed to go back to work and get prophylactic treatment as soon as possible.  *whooppee*.  You guys are probably freaking out now.

     I’ve worked as a Respiratory Therapist in the ER, for the better part of twenty years.  Things like this happen all the time.  They’re just precautionary.  I get at least two tuberculosis skin tests a year, sometimes four.  The hospital also sees to it that I get an annual flu shot. Sometimes I think they make up reasons to stick needles in me.  That being said, I haven’t contracted any weird diseases that I can’t pronounce.  So, I guess that I should thank them.

     On to the second major decision of the day, “To train or not to train?”  I really wanted to train, but the health and welfare of my team mates is more important than training.  That meant two hours in the ER instead of training.  We all need to take care of ourselves, so that we don’t get others sick.  Even if that means we miss training.  Heavytraining wrote “Terror in the Shower” , a very funny story about skin infections on his blog.  It brings home a very serious topic for BJJ practitioners.  Thank you Heavytraining for sharing…  Maybe a little too much…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You’ve Been Exposed…

  1. Yikes! That’s really scary. I hope everything is okay, and I’m glad you were considerate toward your teammates.

    Please tell us how it turns out!

  2. Megan says:

    Yeah…how DO you handle training in a situation like that? Are there certain diseases for which exposure doesn’t leave you quarantined?

  3. @ Megan and Julia – Since it was less than 24 hours and I had no symptoms, all I had to do was take one Cipro antibiotic. I’m not sick or contagious. I just had to take the medicine so that I wouldn’t get me or anybody else sick next week. The problem was that I was close to the end of my window for treatment. If I would have went to train, I would have missed my window.

    Quarantied – The hospitals today are very good about catching highly contagious illnesses. They then track down all the employees that came in contact with said pt. Then they test and/or treat said employees before they get sick.

    guidlines for not training – If you have a strange growth, weird sore, or coughing up yellow or green stuff. DON’T TRAIN, see your doctor instead. 🙂

  4. Megan says:

    Great advice:) Interesting info on hospitals and disease.

Leave a Reply

