A Hard Bullet to Bite

     It’s official, I suck at butterfly guard.  My goals this month all circle around butterfly guard.  My first two goals are to transition out of butterfly and into x-guard or spider guard.  Which I’m getting those two.  It’s the third goal that I’m having problems with.  It is to develop butterfly guard sweeps.  I’m just not getting it.  I know, it has only been two weeks.  But, it’s bothering me.  I’m not finding the leverage points.  My butt is always in the wrong place.  Then there is the part where you trap your opponent’s arm so they can’t post.  I feel like I’m trying to contain the tentacles of an octapus.  Whoa, I must sound like a whiney baby!  I’m not frustrated.  It’s just that I realize that there is a problem and I need to fix it.  I’m trying to figure out what the problem is.  It’s a process that I go through. 

     OK, identify the problems.  They are position, arm trapping, and leverage points.  I think once I get the positioning right the leverage point will be there.  Then there is the arm trapping.  I think that may be a timing issue.  Maybe I’m trying to trap the arms too early, and they are getting loose before I can sweep.  I’m also not getting control of their center of gravity!  I wasn’t even thinking of that.  That is the key to all sweeps.  Control your opponent’s center of gravity.  I can do that.  I just have to know my leverage points…

     Then there is the argument that my regular training partners outweigh me by at least 50 to 100 pounds.  BUT, if my technique was good, that shouldn’t matter.  Maybe, I just need to accept the fact that I can’t figure this one out on my own.  I need to accept the fact that I need help.  That is a hard bullet to bite.  I’m an independent person who dislikes having to depend on someone else.  My perception of “needing help” is that it is a weakness.  I hate feeling weak!  Ok, so I need to get over myself, “bite the bullet”, and ask for help.

This entry was posted in BJJ Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

