Owning the Jiu Jitsu

     I work in an environment that has a high percentage of workplace violence.  My coworkers and I are assaulted in one form or another on a weekly if not daily basis.  The statistics for assaults to emergency room workers are astounding.  See here .  Delegate Chris Stolle here, quotes a study that says emergency room workers are 400% more likely to be assaulted than the average US worker.  The problem with the numbers, I feel that they are low.  Yes, as high as they sound, I think the larger majority of assaults go unreported.  Why, assaults are seen as part of the job.  If we took the time to report every assault that we endured, we would spend all of our time filling out paper work and sitting in court rooms.  All we want to do is help people.  Also, patient confidentiality laws make it difficult for us to discuss such incidents.

     I’ve been cursed, spit on, scratched, clawed (yes, there is a difference), pinched, hit, bitten, choked, hair pulled, clothes ripped off me, kicked, and the list goes on.  I continue to suffer through, because I love my job and I love what I do (when not being assaulted).  I’m one of the fortunate ones. I’ve trained in martial arts for over ten years.  In the process, I’ve developed reflexes that enable me to dodge and deflect most attacks with relative ease and without injuring the attacker.  However, in a recent assault, I sustained one blow to the face, nine scratches, and I count four bruises so far.  Four of my coworkers were also assaulted.  Thankfully, we all walked away with only minor scratches and bruises.

     I’m thankful for BJJ, because I am able to protect my coworkers and myself without hurting the patient.  I’ve often wondered when I would start “feeling” like I’m doing BJJ.  That time is now.  The BJJ that I’ve learned has blended with all the other martial arts that I’ve taken, and become a part of me.  I now own the Jiu Jitsu. 

P.S.  BJJ really does work!

This entry was posted in BJJ Training, Martial Arts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Owning the Jiu Jitsu

  1. Ashley says:

    Thanks for this post.

    I feel like a lot of the idea of using BJJ for self-defense is in response to fear-mongering, especially for women, which I don’t really like. As a result, I typically don’t get behind the idea of BJJ for self-defense, especially since it has so much to offer as a straight up sport. But you have made made me re-evaluate my position regarding BJJ as self-defense. I guess I can’t really deny that, for some people, BJJ is downright practical.

    I also thank you for your dedication to the important service that you provide.

    • Ashley – Thank you. My sons have trained in martial arts with me for many years. We’ve trained in many different styles. It was their idea to train in BJJ. (I’ll have to write a post about that) Part of the decision process included the fact that it didn’t matter how good I was at kicking and punching. All anyone had to do to defeat me, was pick me up and throw me on the ground (I weigh 112 pounds). Thanks to BJJ, that is no longer true.
      As far as self-defense seminars, I don’t trust my safety to them. I’ve been in more real life combat scenarios than I can count. None of the crap I learned at self-defense seminars worked for my small frame. However, the mental conditioning and reflexes that I developed by training in martial arts have by far, been the most valuable asset that I possess.
      As far as the dedication to the medical profession, it’s a mental illness. 😉

  2. Georgette says:

    Ditto what Ashley said. Rock it sister.

    • Georgette – I had this huge debate with myself about writing this post. I don’t want to dwell on work when I’m not at work. Plus as a health care professional, I have to be careful about what I say and write. There are somethings we just can’t say legally. Also, when you mention martial arts of any kind, people instantly get a mental image of a professional mma fighter in the midst of a brutal ground and pound. Then I thought, the story validates martial arts training. What most people don’t realize, is that martial arts is so much more than just fighting. As Ashley said, it is an excellent sport. The process of learning in itself is invaluable.

Leave a Reply

