The Humiliating Experience of Failure

     Natural talent describes a trait of a person seemingly gifted in a skill.  Heart describes a trait of a person who continues to practice a skill, no matter how many times they fail.  A few years ago, a fellow student that I was mentoring lamented on her lack of natural talent.  I explained to her that in the long run, an athlete with heart would beat an athlete with natural talent, unless the athlete with natural talent also possesses heart.  She looked at me like I was crazy.  The instructor was standing behind me and saw the look of disbelief on her face.  He said, “It’s true.”  Now your probably thinking that’s crap.  Let me explain.

     Many people with natural talent never have to work hard.  When they are suddenly faced with a skill that they cannot do easily, they will give up.  They are so used to depending on their natural talent, that they do not know how to “work” for something.  This is where the person with heart comes in.  No matter how bad they suck, they get up and try again.  If they fail again, they get up and try again.  Over and over they will endure the humiliating experience of failure, until they achieve mastery.

This entry was posted in BJJ Training, Martial Arts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Humiliating Experience of Failure

  1. Allie says:

    I agree 100%. Endurance in spirit is one of the hardest things about BJJ.

  2. Gina says:

    I love this post, I think I’ve read it 1o times already. As someone who knows all about “the humiliating experience of failure”, it comforts me to believe that my heart can make up for my natural lack of talent. Thank you.

  3. Pingback: A Butt Grabbing Badass Status!!! | Combat Sports Review Blog

Leave a Reply

