Rolling Without Purpose Sucks

     I’ve developed the habit of rolling with purpose.  Before I go to class, I will identify two to three goals that I want to achieve while rolling.  Past goals have included preventing the guard pass, sweep to knee on belly, or achieve mount.  There maybe a specific sweep that I work on or maybe a specific set of submissions to look for.  If I achieve said goals, then I feel that the roll was productive.  I keep my goals simple and am usually able to achieve them.  However this month, I decided to roll without purpose.

     This month, I wanted to relax and enjoy rolling.  For the most part, I have.  It’s just that there is not a sense of accomplishment when I’m done.  Without goals I do not have a measuring stick for my success.  The premise is that if I roll without purpose, I will find the holes in my game.  Then I will know what I need to work on.  There is a twisted psychology here.

     I guess you could say that the goal of the month is to fail and find out why I’m failing.  By failing, I can learn how to develop a stronger game.  However, my ego is getting in the way.  I don’t want to fail, but I have to fail to get better.  So this month, I will fight my ego.  I will continue to fail and find my weaknesses.  Next month, I will have new goals to work on.  I will have purpose again.  The result will be a stronger game.  So, let’s put the ego in a box for a little while longer and roll without pupose.  Even though it sucks.

This entry was posted in BJJ Training and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

