Is That Gi Worthy of You?

     Recently Megan wrote a post called,  “Am I Worthy Of This Gi?”.  My question is, “Is that gi worthy of you?”  Is it going to survive your hard training?  Does it fit you well?    I recently retired my favorite gi.  There is almost twenty years of blood, sweat and tears in that gi.  I’ve accomplished amazing things in that gi.  It fits great too.  When I wear that gi I remember all those accomplishments and it gives me confidence.  It is one of the things that helped me get through the first eighteen months of BJJ when I was the only girl, the oldest and smallest student.  When I wear that gi, I know that I can survive anything, because I had survived a lot in that gi.

     So, buy a well made gi.  One that fits you well.  Buy a gi that is going to survive all the hardships of training in a combat sport.  Buy a gi that you love.  Buy a gi that is going to last twenty years.  Then put some blood, sweat, and tears into that gi.  Then when times get bad and you don’t know if you can go on, put that gi on and remember.  Remember everything that you have accomplished.  Remember  all the hardships and injuries that you have survived.  It will give you the courage and confidence to over come any challenge you may encounter.

     Megan, enjoy your new gi and screw everybody else.  😉

This entry was posted in BJJ Training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is That Gi Worthy of You?

  1. Georgette says:

    Ladies, there’s a website devoted to us and our reviews of gis from our perspective… it’s here:

    http://gis.gringabjj.com/

    Thanks to Elyse for making it!

Leave a Reply

