Hacking Net Nanny

     This is a Facebook conversation that I had with a friend of mine, concerning her twelve-year old’s way-ward computer / internet skills…  It seems that he has figured out how to hack Net Nanny…  😮

My Friend – My son, XXXXX, is forcing me to become a bigger geek than I already am – learning about every single exe on his computer. LSA installed a proxy server and is by passing our parental controls. I know it’s on, but it’s invisible at the same time. Any experience with LSA, kids and computers, please advise!
 
 

Me – Change your passwords. Proxy servers are usually websites.  Proxy information can be found in the systems LSA.  LSA information is available to people with administrative credentials. So, not only …did he hack net nanny and internet explorer, but he may have hacked mommy to get her administrative password. Internet explorer has a proxy server configuration in it. Don’t know where it is. 
 
My friend – ‎:-(
I think I need to reinstall Net Nanny on his machine. In the interim, I deleted all unnecessary applications and disabled all non-critical processes in addition to all proxy servers I found on his machine, then I cut off his access to any and every application that could access system configurations, software downloads, installs, etc. I also timed out his login to windows so he shouldn’t be able to access his computer at all between 9pm and 5am any day of the week. When he can log in, none of his web browsers will launch.
 
Me – ROFLMAO
 
Now THAT is a combat sport!!!  Anybody care to wager who is going to win? 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hacking Net Nanny

  1. SavageKitsune says:

    I know a lot of people will disagree with me, but I don’t believe in sheltering kids with stuff like Net Nanny. I feel that too many people try to shelter their kids, and when the kids turn 18 and leave for college, they crash and burn. They are delirious at finally getting off the leash, and determined to make up for lost time, and they don’t have the skills to deal adequately with the seedier aspects of real life (or *ANY* aspect of real life, for that matter)because they have been sheltered from it.

    My opinion is that kids should see what the real world is like- ick and all- with a parent by their side. Preferrably while they still respect you enough to listen to what you’re trying to teach them.

    Not only will they be more prepared to navigate life on their own when they’re adults (and isn’t that what a parent is **FOR**- isn’t that your **JOB**- to teach them to do that?), but they will be a lot less helpless and vulnerable as long as they are still kids. A lot of parents seem to think helpless and vulnerable is the ideal state- but I say that’s only if you can keep your kid locked alone in her room 24/7 with her censored computer. They are out there in the world without you at least part of the time, like it or not, and encountering all sorts of things that you may not approve of. Better they have enough knowledge and skills to deal, and not be out there in the world in that helpless and vulnerable state.

    Not to mention, computer censoring programs often block a lot of legitimate and critical educational info (STD prevention, etc… although most sheltering parents are delusional enough to believe that they can prevent their little darlings from finding out what intercourse is until their wedding nights). And these tech-savvy kids are always going to be a step ahead of you (more power to them, IMHO).

    Don’t encourage me now, cuz I can keep going for a long time on this one……. 😉

    • LOL! I love it when you speak your mind!
      While I respect and admire my friend’s parenting style. My parenting style is more in line with your way of thinking. I knew that as a single parent I would not be able to shelter my children from the evils of the world. So, as a result I used movies, music, and life as teaching tools. My friend Linda used to call it “Open Forum at Miss Jodi’s”. It was kind of like an ice breaker into some of the difficult “talks” that I feel one should have with their children. As far as products like net nanny, when I first signed up for internet service at my house, I had a long talk with my second brother (a former programer for the US Marine Corp) He told my that if I limited their access to the world, that I would limit their learning potential. I felt that he had a valid point, so I didn’t install a “net nanny” program. However, I did monitor their browser history. There were only two occaisions that I had to sit the boys down and have a “talk” with them. One was the search “sexy girls” (I guess I can seek comfort in the fact that I knew my boys minds were in the gutter) and the other was along the lines of internet safety.

      As far as how children turn out… I’ve known people who had strict parents. One friend in particular comes to mind. When she turned 18, she went wild and failed out of college the first time around. She also lacked “people skills”, which made it difficult for her to hold a job. She ended up being a house wife, because she could not function in the “real” world. However, I do have friends that had strict parents and they went on to amazing people who were very accomplished, productive people. I’ve also seen it go both ways with parents who were not strict. I guess the bottom line is that a person chooses their own destiny.

      I take it that your money’s on the kid! 🙂

Leave a Reply

