Monthly Review, June 2011

Before I get all self involved here, I have an announcement.  My instructor and BJJ Black Belt under Rodrigo Medeiros, received his Judo Brown Belt last night from Jaime Lazcano.

This month, my goals were simple!  I only had two goals.  Get to class as much as possible and focus on triangles.

I’m back up to three classes a week.  I’m tempted to do more.  However, I don’t want to push too hard and be side-lined again.  (see wuss report below) Three classes a week is good for now.

Triangles – grr, I’m still triangle blind.  The guys have been great, they frequently setup opportunities for me to get triangles.  However, I’m still not seeing them.  There is usually this moment where I stop rolling and say, “I know I’m supposed to be doing something, but for the life of me I can’t figure it out?”  It will take time.  I have drilled them at least once a week.  I’ll get there.  It’s getting better.  Baby steps.

I’m starting to get excited about competing again, but I need to wait until my shoulder is 100% first.  That’s going to give me ample time to work on my tournament plan.  😉  I’ve already got some new tricks up my sleeve.

Wuss Report:  I have a genetic anomoly called Familial Loose Joint Syndrome and it’s being a bitch right now.  The degenerative process in my spine is causing a lot of pain in my neck and lower back lately.  I’m trying to “work” through it.  My recently dislocated right shoulder is still slipping a little out-of-place at times.  My left hip-joint has been deformed since birth.  Sometimes it hurts.  Now is one of those times.  It’s slipping out-of-place at times too.  My fingers are also hurting, which makes it hard to work on grips.  I’m experiencing  a lot of fatigue.  Because of the fatigue and pain, I have to take “breaks” during class.  Sometimes, I have to cut class short.  I know that I have to train, and get my body strong again.  Then the pain and fatigue will dissipate.  It’s just really hard right now.  Emotionally and spiritually I’m doing well.  Despite all the “problems”, I’m happy and laughing most of the time.  When I think about training, I get really excited and look forward to competing again next year.  When I lay down at night, I think, “That was an amazing day!  I can’t wait to do it again tomorrow.”

This entry was posted in BJJ Training, Monthly Task List and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

