Hans Ulrich Baughman

On today, the 4th of July, my country’s Independence Day, I would like to thank the following people:

  1. James Allen Baughman, my father and son of
  2. James Carl Baughman, son of
  3. Needham Nathan Baughman, son of
  4. Martin Luther Baughman, son of
  5. Joel Baughman, son of
  6. John Baughman, son of
  7. (Ulrich) Baughman, son of
  8. Hans Ulrich Baughman,  a young Prussian man who started farming the land of this country before it was a country.

Thank you for a country, where I can live a safe and peaceful life.  A country where I won’t go hungry or live in fear.  Thank you for the strength of character that you demanded of each subsequent generation and of me.  Thank you for that stubborn hard-headed streak that seems to have been passed down from one generation to the next.  Thank you for teaching the generation after you, the history of the generations before you.  And a special thanks to Hans Ulrich Baughman for hoeing that damn field in Saxe Gothe, South Carolina.  If you had not worked so hard in that field, I wouldn’t be able to say, “I am an American.”  And I truly am proud to be an American.

Happy Independence Day!!!

This entry was posted in BJJ Training. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hans Ulrich Baughman

  1. slideyfoot says:

    Out of interest, was it always Baughman, or did Hans change that from something more Germanic, like Bachmann?

    Much to my regret, it isn’t easy to go back through my Turkish ancestry like that, as Turkey has only used surnames since the early 20th century, IIRC. I could probably do it easily enough on the German side, but I’ve never been as interested in that, for some reason.

    • -During Hans Ulrich’s life, most people couldn’t read or write. It was a time when words were rythmic sounds, not squigley symbols scratched onto paper. For a long time, that concept was very troublesome for me. But I finally accepted that it was not spelled at all. It was pronounced. The sound and not the symbol is what’s important. If I remember correctly, Hans always signed his name with an X and someone else would write his name for him. As I understand it, he did claim Prussia / Germanic heritage.
      -I believe he was born during Reformation. A very difficult time for people of that region. Across the ocean, the English were having troubles of another sort. Native Americans. They also wanted to “profit” from the colonies. They offered farm land to any Germans wanting to escape Reformation. The land they offered was a “buffer zone” between the English Colonies and the Native Americans. They provided the Germans with land, crop starters, and a hoe. The arrangement was “If you survive for four years, the land is yours.” 😉 The produce was sold to the colonies and some of it was shipped back to England, I believe. From some of the first person accounts that I have read of the time, the Germanic farmers and Native Americans seemed to have developed a “mutual respect” or maybe tolerance of each other.
      -My grandparents cultivated an interest in our family history by telling us stories about our ancestors (no video games at the time). The stories were colorful, and entertaining. There were stories about strong, hardworking, ancestors. Then there were humorous stories of the not so bright family members. 😉 They were also able to show us pictures and documentation to prove that these people really did exist. They also taught me about the study of genealogy and encouraged me to research my family history on my own. It kind of gives me something to live up to. However, my ancestors did set the bar pretty high, after all… They helped to create a whole country!
      -My paternal grandmother’s family history is much more prestigeous. Supposedly you can trace her family history through The Isle of Wright to Charlemagne and the Norse god Oden. 😉 LOL, me! decended from the Gods! Historicaly, It was actually a common political maneuver, to claim to be the child of the Gods! …and it worked! Of course, now days if you tried something like that, you would end up in a psych ward.
      -The history of the world became vivid and personal for me. After all, how many people can flip through a history book and say, “That is my ancestor. My ancestors were there. My ancestors did that. My ancestors lived in that city. My ancestors drank out of that river.”
      -The Germans and Turkish have amazing stories. The history of the Turkish region is rich and colorful. I find myself fascinated everytime I read anything about Turkey. Being that Turkey was the cross-road of the world, I would highly recommend, full ancestrial DNA testing.
      -Could talk about history and family all day. Getting sleepy now. My friend says I shouldn’t write on blog when sleepy, because a say the most honest things at that time…. 😉

  2. slideyfoot says:

    Cool – I wasn’t expecting a lovely long response like that! Thanks for taking the time to type it. 😀

    I love history too: very, very nearly did that at uni rather than English Lit. If I get the chance, I’ll do a fourth degree in history. History of Art would be nice too. And sociology. And classics. It would be awesome to just study degree after degree for the rest of my life.

    I didn’t tend to get stories about ancestors, but I did get a great deal of stories about Turkish history, which is why I still feel a much stronger connection to that side of my heritage rather than the German side of things. My father once mooted going on a trip round all the Turkic countries (e.g, Turkmenistan, Azerbaijan etc), but I’m not sure he is still up for that.

    I used to go to Turkey every year, but there was a long gap before my most recent trip in 2009. Did I link that on here already? If not, up here, with some less extensive stuff on Germany here.

    • -Ahh, Turkey. I love Turkey. I’ve been to Antalya and experienced the most amazing things. There was the ancient city of Olympos, The Kaleici District, and the ancient city of Aspendos. It was in Aspendos’s ancient theater (built in the year 155) that I had the most magical experience watching an opera. It was a clear night. The stars were bright and clear. The sound produced by the acoustic architecture was the clearest, purest I’ve ever experienced. A truly magical experience. I want to return to Turkey someday, rent a car and travel the coast line. I believe they have a Marine Archeology Museum in Bodrum that I really want to visit.
      -Germany is on my wish list too. Along with France, Ireland, England, Scottland, and Portugal. Those are the countries in which my ancestors lived. I would very much like to “know” more about their lives before America.
      -Thanks for sharing the links to your vacations. I always enjoy reading about your vacations. You give a wonderful, first person account of the histories, structures, culture, FOOD, and people. 😉
      Teşekkür ederim,
      Jodi

  3. slideyfoot says:

    Bir şey değil! My parents have that house near Bodrum, so let me know if you’re ever heading out there: I still haven’t taken my girlfriend to it, which is long overdue (as we’ve been going out for over ten years at this point). 🙂

Leave a Reply

