A Matter of Perspective

Below is a recent Facebook post from Tim Credeur, that reminded me of a topic that circles around my mind occasionally.

“A Cat looked at the mirror and what he saw was a Lion. Secret of success depends on how you see yourself.” Arishekola Ishaq — Nigeria

I have a friend who lost a lot of weight last year.  She’s proud of her accomplishment.  However, she told me that she still sees herself as a “big girl”.  We’ve had a few conversations about it.  We’ve talked about things she could do to change her self-perspective.  In the process, I examined how I view myself.

Even though I’m a tiny person, I see myself as a much bigger person.  Not over-weight, just bigger.  I’m often shocked when I see a reflection of myself standing beside normal people.  I look really tiny compared to normal people.  There have even been others that stand beside me for the first time and say, “Jodi, I thought you were much taller.”  Apparently, the way we see ourselves influences how others view us too.

I was wondering, how do you see yourself?  If you’ve changed your self-perspective, how did you do it?

This entry was posted in BJJ Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Matter of Perspective

  1. slideyfoot says:

    I see myself as a small, scrawny guy. The mirror seems to agree with me. 😛

Leave a Reply

